Tag Archives: conceal and carry

Homeland Security Considers Issuing Travel Warning for Florida!

20140211-102846.jpg

If you plan on going to Florida, it is rumored that Homeland Security is considering issuing a travel warning for Florida warning visitors to be careful in Florida and especially to avoid the following:

Do not text in movie theatres. Texting can aggravate other people watching the movie, and these people could feel their lives are threatened. In self-defense, they could shoot you.

Do not play loud music in your car. Loud music can aggravate people in other vehicles, and these people could feel their lives are threatened by the loud music. In self-defense, they could shoot you.

If you see Mickey Mouse, do not fondle his ears. Such conduct can aggravate people, and these people could feel their lives are threatened. In self-defense, they could shoot you.

In summary, if you are in Florida, the best policy would be to stay in your room or if you must go to the beach, be quiet and do not text or play loud music. If you just use some common sense, you can survive a trip to Florida

Medical Marijuana – My Gun or My Pot That Is The Question!

20140124-110527.jpg

The State of Illinois makes everything difficult. The new law dealing with medical marijuana went into effect January 1, 2014. The Department of Public Health has posted online 48 pages of draft rules to implement the new law. A good overview of the law can be found at http://www.mpp.org/states/illinois/IllinoisHB1BillSummary.pdf

If you want to read all of the proposed rules, then go to
http://www2.illinois.gov/gov/mcpp/Documents/DPH%20medical%20cannabis_DRAFT%20proposed%20rule%2001%2021%2014.pdf

If you want to keep your guns, forget it if you want to qualify for medical marijuana. Part of the proposed rule says:

That the applicant understands that a qualifying patient or designated caregiver with a current Firearm Owners Identification Card or a Concealed Carry Weapons Permit who is approved for a registry identification card shall be in violation of and may not possess firearms under relevant state and federal law. As such, registered qualifying patients and designated caregivers are not eligible for a Firearm Owners Identification Card or a Firearm Concealed Carry License and may be subject to administrative proceedings by the Illinois State Police if they do not voluntarily surrender such card or license.

I guess that means that if someone tries to take your medical marijuana at gun point, the criminals will have a license to kill you since they know you are defenseless.

Information on Concealed Carry Application Available at Illinois State Police Website – All Applications Must Be Done Online

20131217-094034.jpg
A news release states that the Concealed Carry License (CCL) website is being launched in advance of the January 5 application posting date to provide citizens with additional information that will assist with eligibility requirements, application fees, training requirements, official forms, information for firearms instructors, and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs). I guess if you do not have computer, you need not apply!

The information can be accessed at https://ccl4illinois.com/ccw/public/home.aspx

Concealed Carry Law Approved

Illinois has now joined 49 other states in permitting the carrying of guns in public. Illinois State Police have 180 days to create an application process, so it will be 2014 before people can carry guns in public. Once permits are issued, there are limits to where you can carry guns. They will not be permitted in schools, parks, government facilities, buses and commuter trains, bars or restaurants where more than half the business is alcohol sales, and several other public places will continue to be banned areas. After a background check and 16 hours of firearms training (longest of any state), the concealed carry permit will be issued after payment of $150.00. The permit is good for 5 years. As with everything else in Illinois, a whole new level of expensive bureaucracy will be created to manage the license process. Soon the fee will be $1,000 a year to cover the salaries of the bureaucrats administering the system. Remember this – over 1/3 of Illinois State Policemen are paid over $100,000 per year!

The Illinois State Rifle Association says gun owners shouldn’t have to wait nine months for the right to carry concealed weapons, and said Association has filed motions in Federal Court to allow concealed carry by July 16.